Performance Database

Simone Schröder

The German contralto Simone Schröder studied singing at the Hanns Eisler Academy of Music in Berlin, the Carl Maria von Weber Academy of Music in Dresden and privately with Irmgard Hartmann-Dressler. 

Having won the Francisco Viñas International Competition in Barcelona and the International Mozart Competition in Salzburg, she made her début at the Bayreuth Festival in 1996, where she is a regular guest soloist. She sang various roles in Parsifal and Der Ring des Nibelungen with conductors such as Pierre Boulez, Christoph Eschenbach, Adám Fischer, Pietari Inkinen, Marek Janowski, Kirill Petrenko, Giuseppe Sinopoli and Christian Thielemann.

Simone Schröder started a close collaboration with Staatsoper Unter den Linden Berlin in 1997, appearing in both Parsifal and Die Walküre under the direction of Daniel Barenboim. Further roles at Staatsoper Berlin include Mrs. Quickly (Falstaff), Larina (Eugen Onegin), Suzuki (Madama Butterfly), Third Lady (Die Zauberflöte) and Der fliegende Holländer under the baton of Daniel Harding.

A regular guest at Semperoper Dresden since 2014, she sang among other roles Floßhilde, Rossweisse and 2nd Norn in Wagners Der Ring des Nibelungen, Third maid/Elektra and Dryade/Ariadne auf Naxos under the musical direction of Christian Thielemann

Guest appearances led her to venues such as La Scala Milan, Washington Opera, New National Theatre Tokyo, Teatro Colon Buenos Aires, Deutsche Oper Berlin, BBC Proms and Salzburg Easter Festival in collaboration with Daniel Barenboim, Michael Boder, Ivor Bolton, Philippe Jordan, Fabio Luisi, Sir Donald Runnicles, Christian Thielemann and others.

Simone Schröder’s recordings include Mary in Der fliegende Holländer in the first recording of the original version on period instruments, Mahler’s Eighth Symphony under Pierre Boulez, Die Walküre with Sir Simon Rattle, Elektra with Christian Thielemann and concert works by Schumann and Mendelssohn Bartholdy with Kent Nagano.


Engagements in Bayreuth

Year Opera Part
2023 Götterdämmerung Floßhilde
2023 Die Walküre Rossweisse
2023 Das Rheingold Floßhilde
2021 Konzert Parsifal Altsolo
2021 Konzert Parsifal Klingsors Zaubermädchen
2021 Konzert Parsifal 2. Knappe
2021 Die Walküre Rossweisse
2019 Parsifal Altsolo
2018 Die Walküre Waltraute
2017 Die Walküre Grimgerde
2015 Die Walküre Grimgerde
2012 Parsifal Altsolo
2011 Parsifal Altsolo
2010 Parsifal Altsolo
2010 Götterdämmerung Floßhilde
2010 Götterdämmerung 1. Norn
2010 Die Walküre Schwertleite
2010 Das Rheingold Floßhilde
2009 Parsifal Altsolo
2009 Götterdämmerung Floßhilde
2009 Götterdämmerung 1. Norn
2009 Die Walküre Schwertleite
2009 Das Rheingold Floßhilde
2008 Parsifal Altsolo
2008 Götterdämmerung Floßhilde
2008 Götterdämmerung 1. Norn
2008 Die Walküre Schwertleite
2008 Das Rheingold Floßhilde
2007 Parsifal Altsolo
2007 Götterdämmerung 1. Norn
2007 Die Walküre Schwertleite
2006 Parsifal Altsolo
2005 Parsifal Altsolo
2004 Götterdämmerung 1. Norn
2004 Siegfried Erda
2004 Die Walküre Schwertleite
2004 Das Rheingold Erda
2004 Parsifal Altsolo
2003 Götterdämmerung 1. Norn
2003 Siegfried Erda
2003 Die Walküre Grimgerde
2003 Das Rheingold Erda
2002 Siegfried Erda
2002 Götterdämmerung 1. Norn
2002 Die Walküre Grimgerde
2002 Das Rheingold Erda
2001 Parsifal Altsolo
2001 Parsifal Klingsors Zaubermädchen
2001 Parsifal 1. Knappe
2000 Parsifal Altsolo
2000 Parsifal Klingsors Zaubermädchen
2000 Parsifal 1. Knappe
1999 Parsifal 1. Knappe
1999 Parsifal Altsolo
1999 Parsifal Klingsors Zaubermädchen
1998 Parsifal Klingsors Zaubermädchen
1997 Parsifal Klingsors Zaubermädchen
1996 Parsifal Klingsors Zaubermädchen
1995 Tannhäuser 3. Edelknabe
1993 Tannhäuser 3. Edelknabe
1992 Tannhäuser 3. Edelknabe