“After Tristan” – A Journey from the Past Backwards into the Present

An evening between Richard Wagner and Heiner Müller, exploring the path from TRISTAN UND ISOLDE to QUARTETT, with texts by both authors and music by Wagner, arranged by Ingo Kerkhof and Gerhard Ahrens as part of the event series “Diskurs Bayreuth” of the Bayreuth Festival 2022 in the cinema “Reichshof”.

Direction

Ingo Kerkhof

Stage design and costumes

Jessica Rockstroh

Music

Felix Kroll

Dramaturgy

Gerhard Ahrens

Actress

Dagmar Manzel

Actor

Sylvester Groth

“TO TRISTAN” – A journey from the past backwards into the present

What the Middle Ages saw as the result of a sorcery or a curse, Romanticism sought and celebrated as the most intense revelation. To experience such consumption through passion was the longing of romantic lovers, even though the drive that had become passion exercised the greatest tyranny. It cashed in on social conditions by detaching itself, to the épater le bourgeois, from society and its customs.
Franz Blei, „Formen der Liebe“

After his production of TRISTAN UND ISOLDE at the Bayreuth Festival in 1993, Heiner Müller remarked that his play QUARTETT from 1982, written exactly 200 years after the original LES LIAISONS DANGEREUSES by Choderlos de Laclos, was a continuation of Wagner’s TRISTAN, if one assumes a happy ending to the plot: “If they had gotten along, it would have happened ten or twenty years later like in QUARTETT.”

In his play based on Laclos, Heiner Müller has uncovered the skeleton of the epistolary novel to expose the structure of the gender relationship as a hell of human passions, the anatomy of love, terror and violence in the realm of the most intimate human relationships. The protagonists Merteuil and Valmont act out the destruction of human relationships of historic proportions in the salon before the French Revolution, as immoral as they are depraved:
A woman is dying. She encounters her former lover once more. Physical desire has given way to a cold dispute about seduction, conquest and jealousy. The battle of the sexes becomes a battle against transience and death. In the end, the woman hands poisoned wine to the man.
Wagner’s TRISTAN is also about sexuality and power, about deviation from the norm and punishment, about guilt and atonement, about betrayal and downfall:
A man lies dying. He is lovingly cared for. He is coming to the end, but he cannot let go. He has been poisoned with love. Over and over again he experiences déjà-vu encounters with his absent lover. Longing becomes an obsession.

Two couples who, through their thinking and feeling, stand outside the prevailing social structure and construct a counter-image. The dream of an obsessive longing for love as an attempt to escape from bourgeois society and the compulsion to attack the foundations of bourgeois society with the weapons of the intellect, the ideas of love, loyalty and morality, becomes a trauma.

Dates

  • Tuesday, 07/26/22, 19:30
  • Thursday, 07/28/22, 19:30
  • Saturday, 07/30/22, 19:30
Icon: Tickets kaufen / Buy tickets
Menu

„Nach Tristan“ – Eine Reise aus der Vergangenheit rückwärts in die Gegenwart

Ein Abend zwischen Richard Wagner und Heiner Müller, der den Weg von TRISTAN UND ISOLDE zu QUARTETT auslotet, mit Texten beider Autoren und Musik von Wagner, eingerichtet von Ingo Kerkhof und Gerhard Ahrens im Rahmen der Veranstaltungsreihe „Diskurs Bayreuth“ der Bayreuther Festspiele 2022 im Kino „Reichshof“.

Regie

Ingo Kerkhof

Bühnenbild und Kostüme

Jessica Rockstroh

Musik

Felix Kroll

Dramaturgie

Gerhard Ahrens

Schauspielerin

Dagmar Manzel

Schauspieler

Sylvester Groth

“NACH TRISTAN” – Eine Reise aus der Vergangenheit rückwärts in die Gegenwart

Was das Mittelalter als Folge einer Zauberei oder eines Fluches ansah, suchte und feierte die Romantik als die intensivste Offenbarung. Solche Verzehrung durch die Leidenschaft zu erleben, war die Sehnsucht der romantischen Liebespaare, auch wenn der Leidenschaft gewordene Trieb die größte Tyrannei ausübt. Er kassierte die sozialen Bedingungen, indem sie sich, bis ins épater le bourgeois, von der Gesellschaft und deren Sitten und Bräuchen löste.
Franz Blei, „Formen der Liebe“

Heiner Müller hat nach seiner Inszenierung von TRISTAN UND ISOLDE bei den Bayreuther Festspielen 1993 bemerkt, dass sein Stück QUARTETT aus dem Jahre 1982, genau 200 Jahre nach der Vorlage LES LIAISONS DANGEREUSES von Choderlos de Laclos entstanden, eine Fortsetzung von Wagners TRISTAN sei, wenn man bei der Handlung ein Happyend voraussetzt: „Wenn die sich gekriegt hätten, wäre es zehn oder zwanzig Jahre später so zugegangen wie in QUARTETT.“

In seinem Stück nach Laclos hat Heiner Müller das Skelett des Briefromans freigelegt, um die Struktur der Geschlechterbeziehung als Hölle menschlicher Leidenschaften freizulegen, die Anatomie der Liebe, Terror und Gewalt im Bereich intimster menschlicher Beziehungen. Die Protagonisten Merteuil und Valmont agieren ebenso sittenlos wie verderbt im Salon vor der französischen Revolution die Zerstörung menschlicher Beziehungen von historischem Ausmaß aus:
Eine Frau liegt im Sterben. Sie begegnet noch einmal ihrem ehemaligen Liebhaber. Das körperliche Verlangen ist einem kalten Disput über Verführung, Eroberung und Eifersucht gewichen. Der Kampf der Geschlechter wird zum Kampf gegen Vergänglichkeit und Tod. Am Ende reicht die Frau dem Mann vergifteten Wein.
Auch bei Wagner geht es im TRISTAN um Sexualität und Macht, um Normabweichung und Bestrafung, um Schuld und Sühne, um Verrat und Untergang:
Ein Mann liegt im Sterben. Liebevoll wird er umsorgt. Es geht mit ihm zu Ende, aber er kann nicht loslassen. Er wurde mit Liebe vergiftet. Immer und immer wieder erlebt er in Déjà-vus die Begegnung mit seiner abwesenden Geliebten. Die Sehnsucht wird zur Obsession.

Zwei Paare, die durch ihr Denken und Fühlen außerhalb der herrschenden Gesellschaftsstruktur stehen und ein Gegenbild konstruieren. Der Traum einer obsessiven Liebessehnsucht als Fluchtversuch aus der bürgerlichen Gesellschaft und der Zwang, die bürgerliche Gesellschaft mit den Waffen des Intellekts in ihren Grundfesten, den Vorstellungen von Liebe, Treue und Moral anzugreifen wird zum Trauma.

Termine

  • Dienstag, 26. Juli 2022, 19:30 Uhr
  • Donnerstag, 28. Juli 2022, 19:30 Uhr
  • Samstag, 30. Juli 2022, 19:30 Uhr
Icon: Tickets kaufen / Buy tickets
Menü